Green Eggs and Ham

Standard

And so it begins—-the Tyranny Of The Dumpling.  Today was one of those beautiful days that I had set aside for outdoor fun.

“First I’ll just try this one recipe for corn soup.”  “And I need to make those porcupine meatballs again and see if they are fit for a party.”  “And I really feel like eating those yeast rolls from the Model Bakery cookbook.”  “And I have to make SOMETHING for dinner.”

And, for some time now, I have been thinking about making Green Eggs and Ham Dumplings.  Why not today? Try them and you may, I say.

OBVIOUSLY I would rather have spent the day gardening, or bird watching.  Instead I was compelled to make dumplings.

This dumpling-a-week business has enslaved me.

 

I did make the corn soup and the hardest part was straining it through a fine mesh strainer.  It took forever, but the soup was velvety and luxurious and will be great with some crispy bacon bits—or fried shallots for my vegetarian friends.

I made poolish again–same recipe as the cheeseburger dumplings from last post, but this time I just made yeast rolls.  They looked beautiful but sadly lacked flavor.

IMG_2040

 

The tastiest dish of the day was the roasted pork tenderloin, also the Easiest and Least Time Consuming. I believe there is a teachable moment here somewhere. [Mix 1 tsp each of salt, pepper, paprika, chinese five spice powder, garlic powder, and a heaping tablespoon of brown sugar together.  Rub the spice mixture over the entire surface of the meat, and roast at 375 for 20-25 minutes, till internal temp reaches 140.]

The porcupine meatballs were okay, a little dry—-and the black sticky rice which carries a lovely nutty flavor is just a bit too firm to make this a success, imho.

IMG_2042IMG_2043

But this is a dumpling blog, and here is my tribute to Dr. Seuss:

Green Eggs and Ham Dumplings

Dough:

2 cups raw spinach leaves, washed and packed tightly

1/2 cup water

1/4 tsp salt

2 cups flour

Blend spinach and water in blender till smooth.  Heat spinach puree in small pot till almost boiling.  Mix flour and salt together, then add 3/4 cup of the hot spinach puree and stir together to make the dough.  Knead a few times and let sit for 30 minutes.  This makes a gorgeous bright green dough. Cut dough in half and cover half with plastic wrap.  Form the other half into a log and cut into 10 pieces.  Flatten one piece of dough with palm of your hand, then roll into a round disc, leaving the center thicker than the rest of the wrapper.  Repeat with remaining dough, forming 20 wrappers

IMG_2044

.IMG_2048IMG_2049IMG_2052IMG_2053IMG_2054IMG_2063

Filling:

20 quail eggs

1 pound ham–I used deli sliced ham, cut into 1 inch square

1 pound garlic chives (jiu cai)

1/3 pound ground pork

Boil 2 inches of water in a large pan. Gently lower the eggs into the boiling water, turn down to medium, and boil 4 minutes.  Remove with a slotted spoon to a bowl of ice water.  After the eggs are cool, peel.

IMG_2037IMG_2041

Cut 3 inches off the bottom of the jiu cai and discard.  Wash jiu cai at least twice in a large bowl of water.  Shake off excess water and chop.  Heat 2 tsp oil in shallow pan, add the jiu cai and cook over high heat, allowing evaporation till on the dry side, sprinkle with salt.

IMG_2057

Place ham in food processor and pulse a few times till very coarsely chopped.  Add cooked jiu cai and uncooked ground pork, a little pepper and touch of sage.  Since the ham is already salty, and the jiu cai very flavorful, I added very little seasoning. Pulse a few more times till mixed.

IMG_2058

IMG_2059IMG_2060

Take a disc of lovely green dough. These are much larger than potsticker wrappers–since I had only 20 quail eggs I made only 20 wrappers instead of the usual 32.  Put a generous scoop of ham filling in the center of the wrapper, make a little indentation in the center  and place a quail egg in the center.  Wrap as usual (see my Doughboy post).

IMG_2061

IMG_2066IMG_2062

I would like to pause here and mention this was my first time buying and cooking quail eggs.  Yet Another WHY DIDN’T I MAKE THESE BEFORE Moment. First of all, they are unbelievably cute.  Secondly, they are eggs and have all of the egg behaving qualities one would expect from eggs. Third, only $1.29 for a cute little box of 10.

I chose to pan fry these, pot sticker style. Which raises the question:  Would you like them cooked with steam?  Would you like them with Jim Beam?

IMG_2071IMG_2073IMG_2077IMG_2087IMG_2098IMG_2093

Critique:

Made under duress (see above enslavement reference) and purely for whimsy, these taste like breakfast. And I would eat them in a box and I would eat them with a fox and I would eat them here or there and I would eat them Anywhere.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Green Eggs and Ham

  1. The R34L DR.SEUSS

    Your creative expression under compulsion is extremely commendable. I also really like how the eggs remain whole while inside the dumpling. You did the doc proud!

  2. Mom

    Green eggs and ham like these, I would eat
    Consider Northwest salmon, your next treat?
    If so, let me know, my dear friend
    A dry-ice box of fish, I can send!

Leave a Reply

